When out and about with Steve, we stopped in for a brew at the local tavern. Upon ordering a Guinness Stout Draught in a can, the bartender whom we know said she heard that Guinness contained beef fat. I didn’t believe it and she said I should Google it. The next time we saw her I ordered another and she asked if I Google it, which I hadn’t.
I still didn’t believe it, and proceeded to drink my Guinness, but now just to be sure I’m going to their website check to be sure. Here’s what they said:
I’m a vegan. Is it true that Guinness is now suitable for vegans?
Yes, our new state-of-the-art filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness Draught, whether from the keg, bottle or from a can.
Are the other Guinness variants (eg. Guinness Foreign Extra Stout) suitable for vegans now?
Guinness Original, Guinness Extra Stout and Guinness Foreign Extra Stout are now suitable for vegans thanks to our new filtration system.
Did you have to change the recipe to make it suitable for vegans?
No, the recipe for Guinness has not changed and neither has the taste. It is still the same Guinness Draught that it has always been, loved by millions around the world.
Although Guinness does not address the beef fat claim, stating the recipe and process are vegan answers that question.