Hardly anyone knows what vegan is even today nearly 40 years later. They’ve become familiar with the word, but not the meaning. They don’t get why vegans won’t eat a vegetarian burger made with egg whites, or that fish and chicken are animals. And what’s wrong with cheese? That’s not an animal. Well, real vegans don’t understand why vegetarians won’t eat a burger that contains no animal products. And you have to wonder why a person serving food wouldn’t know where what they serve comes from. Then there’s the added confusion of people calling themselves vegans who eat fish or chicken, or who are strictly animal-free sometimes.